Tapas Tales, Issue #1!

Recently, I discovered Tapas, a site combining two of my favorite things together: comics and novels! Although there are loads of features I haven’t discovered yet, it’s been a blast spending time in the close-knit community.

There are also many ways to support the creators you love, like through tipping or simply glancing at their ads. That being said, I want to introduce some of the works I’ve come to love so far. My next few posts will include a short summary of one comic and novel I was lucky to find. Some might require money, but there are plenty of ways to earn coins on Tapas, like I mentioned before.

Welp, let’s begin!

Comics

tumblr_inline_o5dqixwUvB1qipmvd_500

The first one that brought me to Tapas has to be The Dummy’s Dummy. It’s a PG-rated horror comic about a living dummy made to clean up his creator’s mess. The man accidentally crafted toys that did the opposite of what they should. Now it’s up to the dummy known as Paris and his young partner Yumi to subdue them. That’s all I can say without spoiling the fun, so feel free to check it out! The art is wonderful and the author does a great job at capturing tense or somber scenes. Definitely recommend if you’re into paranormal goodies.

Novels

98604ac9-59e2-4235-90f2-f3a697d958ec

While browsing through the forums, I landed upon a bittersweet sci-fi story called Astronaut. Although the chapters are short, they’re every bit as powerful as what you would expect from a full length novel. However, these “chapters” are instead unsent letters a stranded astronaut spent the last of his life writing. It’s very moving and hints at sci-fi aspects while keeping the focus on the main character’s struggles. Highly recommended!

Happy reading, and long time no see. If you’re in the east coast like I am, you might enjoy snuggling up to read these while you’re snowdin. 🙂

Leave a comment